16th Annual Meeting of The Worcester Women’s History Project

16th Annual Meeting of The Worcester Women’s History Project was held Saturday, November 5, 2011, 2:00 P.M., at the Worcester Historical Museum. President Fran Langille opened the meeting. The minutes of the last Annual Meeting held Oct. 23, 2010, were approved, as was the Treasurer’s report for fy11. The fy12 budget was approved. Election of Officers, new Steering Committee members, and Nominating Committee members was held. The results of the elections are indicated in the panel on page 2. New to the Steering Committee to serve for three years are Heather-Lyn Haley, president; Kathleen Comer, treasurer; Hayley Gleason, Louise Gleason, Carol Harvey, Kayla Haveles, C.J. Posk. Re-elected to the Steering Committee was C.J. Posk. Re-elected as VP was Doreen Velnich; as clerk, Mary Plummer. Elected to Nominating Committee: Heather-Lyn Haley, Regina Edmonds, Judy Finkel, Barbara Kohin and Fran Langille.

Following the meeting, Lynne McKenney Lydick gave an interesting and informative talk on the topic: “Abby Kelley Foster: The Infamous and Famous.” Lynne arranged to show a clip from a video of the NWHF inductions in which she gave the acceptance speech. A decorated cake congratulating Abby on her inductions into the National Women’s Hall of Fame (10.1.11) and National Abolition Hall of Fame (10.22.11) was enjoyed. Gifts from those who attended the inductions were given to Steering Committee members.

Published Date: 
February 14, 2012